

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE November 5, 2007

> **Governor's Climate Change Sub-Cabinet Immediate Action Workgroup Meets with Community Leaders to Assess Urgent Needs** *Climate Change Sub-cabinet takes public testimony at morning meeting*

**Fairbanks, Alaska--**Leaders from Kivalina, Shishmaref, Newtok, Koyukuk, Barrow, Bethel, Point Hope, Kaktovik and Unalakleet are invited to Fairbanks to meet with the Governor's Climate Change Subcabinet-Immediate Action Workgroup. The leaders have been asked to attend the meeting to discuss their communities' highest priorities and most urgent needs attributable to changes in climate.

"A number of coastal and riverine villages are currently threatened by erosion, flooding, and other risks associated with a warming environment. These villages have urgent needs and government agencies must prioritize and focus our efforts to find solutions," said Department of Environmental Conservation Commissioner and Climate Change Sub-Cabinet Chair Larry Hartig. "We are looking forward to, and are grateful for, the participation of these community leaders."

The Climate Change Sub-cabinet and Immediate Action Workgroup both meet on Tuesday, Nov. 6, in Fairbanks. The Subcabinet meeting, being held at the University of Alaska Fairbanks, Elvey Building, is open to the public from 8:15AM to 11AM and testimony will be taken from 8:30AM to 9AM. The Workgroup meeting, which begins at noon, is at the Regency Hotel and is listen-only to allow guests from the affected communities to make their presentations.

The Immediate Action Workgroup is one of three workgroups formed by the sub-cabinet to address specific climate change issues facing the state. It is charged with conducting an early assessment and developing a climate change action plan. The members of the workgroup currently include the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Alaska Departments of Commerce, Community and Economic Development; Natural Resources and Transportation and Public Facilities; the Denali Commission, and a representative from the Alaska Municipal League and from the Alaska Climate Impact Assessment Commission. The two other workgroups are the Alternative Energy and Energy Conservation Workgroup and Research Needs Workgroup, with more anticipated.

## # # #

**Note:** Individual testimony will be limited to 3 minutes and taken in order of sign-up. For advance sign-up, please contact Kolena Momberger @ 907-269-7634. Anyone unable to attend the meeting in person can give testimony by calling 1-800-315-6338 code 5065#. Everyone wishing to testify must sign up.

To view the agenda or contact the Climate Change Sub-cabinet, visit <u>www.climatechange.alaska.gov</u>

For more information about the Immediate Action Workgroup, contact Deputy Commissioner of Commerce, Community and Economic Development Michael Black at (907) 465-2500. Mr. Black is the state cochair of the immediate action workgroup.

